4 replies to this topic

#1 stubeeef

stubeeef

Sharp Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 09 May 2012 - 07:08 PM

I've been a real Skeet addict for about 15 months, doing that well enough to branch out at the gun club. I bought a plinker (Beretta Neos and Carbine kit) and went to our very nice rimfire range the other day and had a blast. The smell from the first round brought me back to my childhood on the YMCA camp range I would shoot at back in the 60s/70s.

I have been pointed in numerous directions to purchase a new or used rifle to plink some more and kit my 3 teenage daughters involved.

I have a Rem Speedmaster 552 in awful shape-sent an email today to a very good local gunsmith to explore rebuilding it (was my grandfathers), and as stated above I have a Neos with the Carbine Kit and very bad RedDot on top.

Guys in the know started me in the Rugar 1022 direction, and now pointing me in the CZ 452 camp.

i'm looking for something I can get pretty darn accurate up to 100 yds, maybe not win a national competition, and certainly not crazy expensive or needs to be fed high dollar brass.

I look forward to reading a lot here and doing some learning!

#2 Pdwight

Pdwight

Administrator

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,531 posts
  • Interests:CMP Rimfire Sporter, Karate, Iaido, Aircraft and most anything that reflects skill and talent.

Posted 09 May 2012 - 07:34 PM

Welcome to RFS, you are certainly headed in the right direction.

Dwight
A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove. But the world may be different, because I was important in the life of a child.

for Zach, Everett, and Lilly

#3 Monty23

Monty23

Tinhorn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:28 PM