5 replies to this topic

#1 DupeDirty

DupeDirty

Distinguished Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 11 February 2010 - 09:41 PM

OK i am still new to this but I been reading through this site for some time now and i have had this question i keep wanting to ask yall. I have inherited a Glenfield mod 60 and i have found it a little difficult to find very much info on it. This gun has almost identical markings on it as a stock Marlin. The stock looks to be walnut and has the squirrel right behind the trigger. It came out of a closet of my grandfather's and was extremely dusty and appears that it has set up for a very long time. i have cleaned it up and shot it some but i would like to see if anyone out there could give me some insight on it before i start tinkering with the insides.

thanks

#2 Barry

Barry

Legendary Shooter

• Team Leaders RFS
  • 2,008 posts
  • Interests:Target shooting and varmint hunting especially prairie dog shooting. I also enjoy shooting crows and other vermin. My true passion right now is USBR rim fire.
  • Anti Spam Check:739

Posted 12 February 2010 - 07:43 AM

Tony is our resident model 60 guy. He can tell you most anything you might want to know about them. In my limited experience the Glenfield name is the same as Marlin-just sometimes the wood might not be as nice. I had a Glenfield 30/30 one time and it was 100% Marlin just with a little cheaper wood. Barry
Barry A. Holmes

#3 Pdwight

Pdwight

Administrator

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,537 posts
  • Interests:CMP Rimfire Sporter, Karate, Iaido, Aircraft and most anything that reflects skill and talent.

Posted 12 February 2010 - 07:57 AM

Tony is our resident model 60 guy. He can tell you most anything you might want to know about them. In my limited experience the Glenfield name is the same as Marlin-just sometimes the wood might not be as nice. I had a Glenfield 30/30 one time and it was 100% Marlin just with a little cheaper wood. Barry